Declared mines

What is a declared mine?

The Mine Land Rehabilitation Authority monitors the progress of rehabilitation planning for declared mines in Victoria.

A declared mine is a mine that has geotechnical, hydrogeological, water quality or hydrological factors that may be deemed to pose significant risk of harm to the community, environment and infrastructure.

Declared mines in Victoria

There are currently three declared mines in Victoria, all of which are located in the Latrobe Valley. This region is the centre of Victoria’s energy industry and is responsible for more than 80 per cent of the electrical power supplied to the state.

Loy Yang, Yallourn and Hazelwood mines have historically provided brown coal (also called lignite) to thermal power stations, which convert heat into electricity.

MineMining leaseMining lease area
Loy YangMIN51894,560Ha
YallournMIN5003, MIN5216, MIN53045,595Ha

For more information about declared mines, view our fact sheets.